Regions of Japan

Japan is a chain of islands. Japan’s five main islands, from north to south, are Hokkaido, Honshu, Shikoku, and Kyushu. The Ryukyu Islands, which include Okinawa, are a chain to the south of Kyushu.

Together, the islands form the Japanese archipelago. It has 47 prefectures which are in turn geographically divided into eight regions:

Flower garden in Hokkaido, a great area to visit during Golden Week


Home to some of Japan’s most beautiful national parks, untamed wilderness, top ski resorts, and a popular summer destination.

Hirosaki castle


Tohoku is one of Japan’s most scenic regions. Known for its mountains and great skiing spots, lakes, hot springs, castles and samurai residences.



The Kanto region is home to the city of Tokyo, Yokohama, Hakone and its five lakes, and Kamakura, a small city full of historic treasures.



The Chubu region is located in central Honshu, Japan’s largest island. It is home to Nagoya, the Japanese Alps and Mount Fuji.



Kansai is the western region of the island of Honshu and includes the cities of Kyoto, Osaka, and Nara. It is the cultural and historical heart of Japan.

Korakuen Garden


Chugoku is the westernmost region of Honshu island. Home to the great Izumo Shrine, Okayama and its Korakuen Garden, and Hiroshima and Miyajima.



Shikoku is Japan’s smallest island and region. It is known for its abundant nature and beautiful rivers, and it is the home of the 88 Temple Pilgrimage.


Kyushu & Okinawa

The Kyushu region includes both Kyushu island and Okinawa islands. It offers a perfect mix of history, natural beauty, and modern cities.

Get to know each region in depth; its customs, culture, traditions, weather, geographical features and food.