Japan online visa: New tourist eVisa

Due to the security measures against the covid-19 Coronavirus taken by the Japanese authorities, there are some visa suspensions and travel restrictions that may affect you.

Check the details at: Coronavirus (COVID-19) Advisory Information

Travelers heading to Japan will no longer need to queue at a Japanese embassy or consulate to apply for a visa for Japan. The new tourist eVisa for Japan will launch in April 2020 and tourists will be able to complete the application online in just a few minutes.

The first eligible nationality will be Chinese tourists as they represent the largest demographic (over 60%) of visitors to Japan. The electronic visa will be gradually rolled out to other nationalities later on in the year.

The tourist visa is part of a wider government plan to boost tourism. The target is to reach 40 million visitors by 2020 and 60 million by 2030. The new visa will make traveling to Japan much more accessible for millions of people around the world.

Online Visa System

A new online visa will become available in 2020 and it will make traveling to Japan much simpler for millions of tourists around the world. The eVisa is part of the Japanese Government’s plan to reach their goal of 60 million foreign visitors a year by 2030. The single-entry visa will allow visitors to enter for short-stays

Travelers from eligible countries will be able to complete the online application without needing to visit an embassy or consulate. The whole process will just take a matter of minutes. Chinese tourists will be the first eligible nationality but many more countries will be added to the list shortly after.

Preparations for the 2020 Tokyo Olympics

The Japanese Government is keen to ensure the country is as ready as it can be before the influx of sports fans who will head to Japan for the Olympics and Paralympics. Other new types of visas are also on the horizon and there are plans to increase the number of low-cost flights to Japan.

In 2018, Japan received a record-breaking number of tourists, over 30 million, and this number will continue to increase over the next couple of years. Last year’s figure would have been even greater had it not been for an unusually high number of natural disasters which hindered tourism.

The new Japan tourist eVisa will reduce the workload at embassies and consulates and tighten immigration controls as all visitors will be pre-checked before they arrive. Travelers will need to provide a range of information to complete the online application and the data will be screened by the relevant authorities before the visas are issued.

Who will be eligible for the eVisas?

The government has not yet published the list of eligible nationalities for the eVisa. Chinese visitors will be the first ones who will be able to apply, then more will follow.

List of countries that require a Visa to enter Japan
AnguillaAntigua & BarbudaArmeniaAzerbaijan
Bosnia and HerzegovinaBotswanaBrazilBurkina Faso
BurundiCambodiaCameroonCape Verde
Cayman IslandsCentral African RepublicChadChina
ColombiaComorosCongoIvory Coast
CubaDemocratic Republic of CongoDjiboutiDominica
EcuadorEgyptEquatorial GuineaEritrea
IndiaIndonesia (no e-passports)IranIraq
Marshall IslandsMauritaniaMicronesiaMoldova
NicaraguaNigerNigeriaNorfolk Island
North KoreaOmanPakistanPalau
PalestinePanamaPapua New GuineaParaguay
RwandaSaint LuciaSamoaSao Tome & Principe
Saudi ArabiaSenegalSeychellesSierra Leone
Solomon IslandsSomaliaSouth AfricaSouth Sudan
Sri LankaSt Kitts and NevisSt Vincent & GrenadinesSudan
TogoTongaTrinidad & TobagoTurkmenistan
Turks & Caicos IslandsUnited Arab EmiratesUzbekistanVanuatu

At the moment, there are 66 nationalities who can travel to Japan without a visa. These include all EU countries, the US, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, Argentina, South Korea, Turkey, and Thailand. It may be the case that some of the nationalities who currently enjoy visa-free travel to Japan will need to apply for the eVisa.

If so, it will not be a big problem as the online application will only take a few minutes to complete. Applicants will just need to enter basic information such as their name, address, passport details, and travel plans.

Related Posts

Related Tours & Activities