Japan Rail Pass

Your JR tickets Just a click away

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

Are Nozomi and Mizuho Shinkansen covered by the JR Pass?

Nozomi and Mizuho Shinkansen bullet trains (both reserved and non-reserved) are not included with the JR Pass. These two types of trains operate on the Tokaido, Sanyo and Kyushu Shinkansen lines. To use these trains, JR Pass holders would need to pay full fare.

Nozomi and Mizuho alternatives

However, there are Nozomi and Mizuho alternatives which passengers can access with the JR Pass. Along the Tokaido Shinkansen line, pass holders can catch Hikari and Kodama trains which are slightly less frequent and make more stops than Nozomi and Mizuho trains. Hikari trains also run along the Sanyo Shinkansen line and the Kyushu line, as well as Sakura Shinkansen trains.

Typically, Hikari and Sakura trains only make a few more stops than Nozomi or Mizuho trains so they do not take too much longer to reach Nagoya, Osaka or Kyoto from Tokyo. For example, traveling to Osaka from Tokyo takes around 2 hours and 30 minutes by Nozomi, or just over 3 hours by Hikari.

Nozomi Shinkansen prices

If you do need to take one of the Nozomi Shinkansen trains, here is a list of Nozomi ticket prices:

Nozomi Shinkansen prices from Tokyo